Moderate users
If you are assigned the Owner role for a group, you can approve, ban, or automatically remove dormant members.
This topic is specifically related to user moderation in groups. For information related to GitLab Self-Managed, see the administration documentation.
Ban and unban users
- Tier: Ultimate
- Offering: GitLab.com
A group Owner can moderate user access by banning and unbanning users. You should ban a user when you want to block them from the group.
A banned user:
- Cannot access the group or any of its repositories.
- Cannot use slash commands.
- Does not occupy a seat.
Ban a user
For a demo on banning a user at the group level, see Namespace level ban - Banning a user.
Prerequisites:
- In the top-level group, you must have the Owner role.
- In the top-level group, if the user you want to ban has the Owner role, you must demote the user.
To manually ban a user:
- Go to the top-level group.
- In the left sidebar, select Manage > Members.
- Next to the member you want to ban, select the vertical ellipsis ( ).
- From the dropdown list, select Ban member.
Unban a user
To unban a user with the GraphQL API, see Mutation.namespaceBanDestroy.