The figures below contain information for Puerto Rico on a variety of topics of current interest in American education.
NOTE: Resident population includes civilian population and armed forces personnel residing within the United States and within each state; it excludes armed forces personnel residing overseas. The total counts of ungraded students and those whose grade was not specified were prorated into either the prekindergarten through grade 8 level or the grades 9 through 12 level based on the known grade-level distribution of a state. In addition to students in grades 9 through 12 and ungraded students, enrollment in grades 9 through 12 includes a small number of students reported as being enrolled in grade 13. Detail may not sum to totals because of rounding.
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau, 2010 through 2019 Population Estimates, retrieved October 11, 2021, from https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/popest/technical-documentation/research/evaluation-estimates/2020-evaluation-estimates/2010s-state-detail.html; and 2020 through 2022 Population Estimates, retrieved January 1, 2024, from https://www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/popest/2020s-state-detail.html. U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), “State Nonfiscal Survey of Public Elementary/Secondary Education,” 2012–13 through 2022–23.
# Rounds to zero.
NOTE: Race categories exclude persons of Hispanic ethnicity. Enrollment data for students not reported by race/ethnicity were prorated based on the known racial/ethnic composition of a state by grade to match state totals. Data on English learners (ELs) include all ELs, regardless of program participation. Data on students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch reflect counts of students enrolled in all schools for which both enrollment data and free/reduced-price lunch eligibility data were reported. Students reported as eligible for free or reduced-price lunch also include students whose National School Lunch Program eligibility has been determined through direct certification. Students with disabilities refers to 3- to 21-year-olds served under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Part B. Detail may not sum to totals because of rounding.
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection: 2020-21. Office of Special Education Programs, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) database, retrieved October 13, 2023, from https://data.ed.gov/dataset/idea-section-618-state-part-b-child-count-and-educational-environments/resources. National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "Public Elementary/Secondary School Universe Survey," 2022–23, and "State Nonfiscal Survey of Public Elementary/Secondary Education," 2021–22 and 2022–23; and EDFacts file 141, Data Group 678, 2021–22.